• Annites shine at the 34th Big Match

    Battle of the Rocks - Two-day Encounter - Summary

    St. Anne’s College, Kurunegala led by Wanithe Wnninayake did creditably to overcome their rivals Maliyadeva College on the first innings at their Annual Big Match which was played at the Welegedere Stadium.

    Maliyadeve skipper Damithe Silva who won the toss invited the Annites to take the first lease. The Annites did not disappoint their supporters and in 73.5 overs and little over 5 hours decleared their first innings at 307 for 7 wickets. The main scorers were Randeere Ranesinghe – 98, Tharinde Wijesinghe – 56 n.o., Kavindu Ranasinghe – 56, Pubudu Ganegame – 34, Vimukthi Bandare – 27. Kaveen Bandare -2/45, Damithe Silva – 2/97 were the pick of the bowling.  

    Maliyadeve College replied with 224 all out in 101.2 overs in a little over 6 hours. Damithe Silva 85, Brian Chandresene – 30, Kaveen Bandare – 30 played best. Pubudu Ganegame – 5/68, Kavindu Ranasinghe – 2/47, Piumal Singhewanse -2/54 took the bowling honours.

    Annites in the second innings were 53 for no loss in 14 overs and 55 mts. Pubudu Ganegame - 22 n.o., Dineth Chandimal – 25 n.o.

    While the Dialog Champion Trophy was shared at the drawn match a special panel declared: The Best Batsman – Randeere Ranasinghe (SAC), The Best Bowler – Pubudu Ganegame (SAC), The Man of the Match – Pubudu Ganegame (SAC)

  • Battle of the Rocks - 2018

    Battle of the Rocks - 2018 competition will be held between Annites and Devans on March 09th, 10th and 11th at Welagedara International Cricket stadium.

    Be there in numbers to support the team #Annites.

  • Battle Of The Rocks - Conclusion

    A very successful edition of a Battle of the Rocks concluded in this weekend. Let's have a look at the scorecards of both the Test and Limited Over encounters.

    32nd Battle of the Rocks (Test Encounter)

    St. Anne’s: 204 in 48.5 overs (Malshan Perera 73, Pubugu Ganegama 49, Randeera Ranasinghe 27, Umesh Massakkara 20, Damitha Silva 5/45, Sachintha Pieris 2/40) and 214/8 in 63.2 overs (Wanitha Wanninayake 52 n.o., Pubudu Ganegama 52, Pasindu Dayananda 43, Malshan Perera 13, Sanjaya Wanninayake 2/20, Damitha Silva 2/61)
    Maliyadeva: 234/9 (153/5 o/n) in 50 overs (Prabash Keppetipola 65, Sachintha Pieris 56, Dinanjaya Premarathne 41, Damitha Silva 29, Keshan Wijerathna 20, Dilashan Kollure 16, Piyumal Sinhawansha 6/79, Pubudu Ganegama 2/35)

    Result: Match drawn

    Awards: Best fielder – Kavinda Kotuwegedara (St. Anne’s) Best bowler – Piyumal Sinhawansha (St. Anne’s) Best batsman – Malshan Perera (St. Anne’s) Man of the match – Damitha Silva (Maliyadeva)

    20th Battle of the Rocks (Limited Over Encounter)

    ‪St. Anne's: 200/9 (41 ov)
    Malshan Perera 51, Umesh Masakkara 49
    Maliyadeva:272/9 (50 ov)
    Randeera Ranasinghe 5 for 46, Kasun Jayaweera 2 for 63

    When St. Anne's boys were 9 down, bad light stopped play at Welagedara Stadium, giving the victory for Maliyadeva.

    Result: Maliyadeva won

    Congratulations ‪Maliyadeva for winning the ‪Battle of the Rocks Limited Over Encounter.
    Thank you all who supported the team ‪St. Anne's throughout all these days.

  • Battle of the Rocks 2017 on March 17 to 19

  • Battle of the Rocks on 13, 14 and 15 of March

    Battle of the Rocks

    32nd Battle of the Rocks - Two-Day Encounter between Maliyadeva College and St. Anne's College will be played at the Welagedara Stadium on March 13 and 14. Play will commence at 10.00 a.m. on both days.
    Meanwhile 20th Battle of the Rocks - Limited Overs Encounter will be played on March 15 at the same venue.

    St. Anne's Team (Annites) for the 32nd Battle of the Rocks

    ‪‎St. Anne's College team (Annites) for the 32nd Battle of the Rocks encounter‬
    Malshan Perera (Captain), Umesh Massakkara (Vice-Captain), Kavinda Kotuwegedara, Vanitha Wanninayaka, Pasindu Dayananda, Randeera Ranasinghe, Piumal Sinhawansa, Pubudu Ganegama, Vimukthi Perera, Lakmal Jayasekara, Sudesh Kumarage, Tarindu Wijesinghe, Isuru Herath, Kasun Jayaweera, Nipun Ashok, Bawantha Karunasinghe, Suresh Kumarage, Jude Bandara, Nilesh Lakshan, Buddhika Bandara.

    Maliyadeva College and St. Anne's College skippers pose together with the trophies which are on offer for the Battle of the Rocks

    Skippers of the two teams, Prabash Keppetipola (‪Maliyadeva College/ Devans‬, on left) and Malshan Perera (‪St. Anne's College/ ‎Annites‬, on right) pose together with the Esoft Trophies which are on offer for the ‪#‎BattleOfTheRocks‬

    Use the hashtag ‪#‎AnnitesRock‬ for your social media posts relating to Battle of the Rocks.

    "Api Aana"(අපි ආනා) - A song to cheer our boys for the upcoming ‪#‎BattleOfTheRocks‬ encounter.

  • Devens win the Battle of the Rocks 22nd L/O Encounter

    St Anne’s College led by Wanithe Wanninayake won the toss and elected to bat in the 22nd L/O Encounter played at Welegedere Stadium. They managed to score only 140 runs in 48.1 overs. Randeere Ranesinghe – 34, Vimukthi Bandare – 30 were the chief scorers. Kaveen Bandare – 2/12, Sanjeewan Priyadharshane – 2/16, Dinanjaye Premeratne – 2/22, Manelke Dharmadase -2/30 took the bowling honours.

    Maliyadeve College in their turn achieved the target in 33.1 overs losing only 3 wickets. Dulaj Ranetunge -53, Dinanjaye Premaratne – 35 n.o. Lakshithe de Silva claimed 2/18.

    Devens led by Damithe Silva carried away the DAMRO trophy.

  • Wanithe of St. Anne’s College completes 1000 runs

    Wanithe Wanninayake

    Wanithe Wanninayake, captain of St. Anne’s College, Kurunegale completed 1000 runs in the on-going Under 19 B Division School Cricket Tournament. The stylish right hand batsman achieved the target in 15 matches and 20 innings at an average of 59.5. He scored 3 centuries and 6 half-centuries, with 139 his highest against St. Sebastian’s College, Moratuwe. 

    He is a right arm medium fast opening bowler who has captured 18 wickets with best figures of 4 for 37 against St. Xavier’s College, Marawile. He is also a reliable fielder in any position with 7 catches.

    He represented Sri Lanka Under 19 Team in 2016 participating in the Asia Cup and the South African Tour of Sri Lanka.