Annites won the 23rd Battle of the Rocks - Limited Encounter

St. Anne’s College bested Maliyadeva College by 33 runs in the 23rd ‘Battle of the Rocks’ limited overs cricket encounter played at the Welagedara stadium Kurunegala yesterday.

Maliyadeva won the toss and decided to field. St. Anne’s bowled out for 207 runs in 48.5 overs. Kavindu Ranasinghe scored 54 runs and Wanitha Wanninayake scored 44 runs. Kaveen Maduranga took 3/22. Nishanjaya Hettiarachchi and Pasindu Tennakoon took two wickets each. Maliyadeva bowled out for 174 runs in 45 overs. Dulaj Ranatunge scored 51 runs and Chaluka Athapatthu scored 29 runs. Pasindu Tennakoon took 4/30 and Dhananjaya Bandara took 3/25. Pubudu Ganegama took 2 wickets.

St. Anne’s: 207 in 48.5 overs (Kavindu Ranasinghe 54, Wanitha Wanninayake 44, Dineth Chandimal 31, Randeera Ransinghe 21, Naveen Madhuranga 3/22, Nishanjaya Hettiarachchi 2/14, Pasindu Thennakoon 2/34)

Maliyadeva: 174 in 45 overs (Dulaj Ranatunge 51, Chaluka Atapattu 29, Supun Sumanarathna 22, Muditha Premadasa 22, Pasindu Tennakoon 4/30, Dhananjaya Bandara 3/25, Pubudu Ganegama 2/17.

Wanithe Wanninayake

Wanithe Wanninayake, captain of St. Anne’s College, Kurunegale completed 1000 runs in the on-going Under 19 B Division School Cricket Tournament. The stylish right hand batsman achieved the target in 15 matches and 20 innings at an average of 59.5. He scored 3 centuries and 6 half-centuries, with 139 his highest against St. Sebastian’s College, Moratuwe. 

He is a right arm medium fast opening bowler who has captured 18 wickets with best figures of 4 for 37 against St. Xavier’s College, Marawile. He is also a reliable fielder in any position with 7 catches.

He represented Sri Lanka Under 19 Team in 2016 participating in the Asia Cup and the South African Tour of Sri Lanka.

Battle of the Rocks - Two-day Encounter - Summary

St. Anne’s College, Kurunegala led by Wanithe Wnninayake did creditably to overcome their rivals Maliyadeva College on the first innings at their Annual Big Match which was played at the Welegedere Stadium.

Maliyadeve skipper Damithe Silva who won the toss invited the Annites to take the first lease. The Annites did not disappoint their supporters and in 73.5 overs and little over 5 hours decleared their first innings at 307 for 7 wickets. The main scorers were Randeere Ranesinghe – 98, Tharinde Wijesinghe – 56 n.o., Kavindu Ranasinghe – 56, Pubudu Ganegame – 34, Vimukthi Bandare – 27. Kaveen Bandare -2/45, Damithe Silva – 2/97 were the pick of the bowling.  

Maliyadeve College replied with 224 all out in 101.2 overs in a little over 6 hours. Damithe Silva 85, Brian Chandresene – 30, Kaveen Bandare – 30 played best. Pubudu Ganegame – 5/68, Kavindu Ranasinghe – 2/47, Piumal Singhewanse -2/54 took the bowling honours.

Annites in the second innings were 53 for no loss in 14 overs and 55 mts. Pubudu Ganegame - 22 n.o., Dineth Chandimal – 25 n.o.

While the Dialog Champion Trophy was shared at the drawn match a special panel declared: The Best Batsman – Randeere Ranasinghe (SAC), The Best Bowler – Pubudu Ganegame (SAC), The Man of the Match – Pubudu Ganegame (SAC)

St Anne’s College led by Wanithe Wanninayake won the toss and elected to bat in the 22nd L/O Encounter played at Welegedere Stadium. They managed to score only 140 runs in 48.1 overs. Randeere Ranesinghe – 34, Vimukthi Bandare – 30 were the chief scorers. Kaveen Bandare – 2/12, Sanjeewan Priyadharshane – 2/16, Dinanjaye Premeratne – 2/22, Manelke Dharmadase -2/30 took the bowling honours.

Maliyadeve College in their turn achieved the target in 33.1 overs losing only 3 wickets. Dulaj Ranetunge -53, Dinanjaye Premaratne – 35 n.o. Lakshithe de Silva claimed 2/18.

Devens led by Damithe Silva carried away the DAMRO trophy.